play phone device-mobile location2 search plus dash down_arrow cross chevron-down chevron-up chevron-left calendar device-camera

Customer reviews of Mcdougal & Breen Ltd

At Mcdougal & Breen Ltd we pride ourselves on the great service we provide to all of our customers. We understand that buying a car can be a daunting prospect, so we strive to make the buying process as simple and hassle-free as possible.

But don't just take our word for it, see what some of our customers have to say about us...

Write a review

Mcdougal & Breen Ltd

Mcdougal & Breen Ltd

Based on 103 customer reviews

Powered by

  • 5

    Welcoming, honest and enjoyable experien

    By ANDREW S on 10 October 2016 | Verified purchase

    Absouloutly fantastic experience selling and, purchasing a new car. No pressure.Chris was very pleasant answering our questions and addressing our concerns also making us feel relaxed. He made the transaction re: selling and buying very straight forward. Chris was very open and honest and very helpful. To conclude all the staff are very dog friendly, they not also made us feel welcome our dog had a great experience as well. Certainly will go back to McDougal and Breen when looking to replace our car, excellent honest service.

    Reply from Mcdougal & Breen Ltd on 14/10/16

    Thank you for your kind review, it was a pleasure to welcome you both (and your gorgeous dog)

  • 5

    An easy 5 stars

    By Emma R on 16 January 2019 | Purchase not verified

    Popped in after seeing an ad on Autotrader. The lads were more than accommodating, with no pushy sales rubbish and a genuine understanding of my low budget. They gave me the keys to the part ex I was looking at online and let myself and my partner have a look at the car without any pressure. They were honest, genuine and really friendly and they even held the car with a deposit so we could come back to pick it up. The car itself is fab and does exactly what I needed it to and despite being an older and much lower value vehicle, I wasn't pushed to consider anything else which was great. Very impressed with the service and the ease of transaction, paperwork etc. I'd recommend these lads over and over and have even got my step dad watching for a car coming in to meet his needs! Excellent service!

  • 5

    Untrustworthy, rude, obnoxious and unprofessional

    By Raymond L on 21 December 2018 | Purchase not verified

    I’ll keep this brief and fully expect to receive a rude and obnoxious reply from the owner as with every other poor review. Traded a car in which lost value due to work needing done. Absolutely fine. However, purchased a vehicle which fell far short of standards they expected of my trade in. Several issues, faulty stereo, faulty tyre and poor overall condition. Both were faulty at time of test drive and promises made to rectify. Stereo worked briefly on collection but developed same fault within two days (apparently a new fault). Tyre was feathered which according to various reputable garages, doesn’t occur in a 4 day period and 150 miles. Tyre was replaced on car... great. Except they put a £30 budget tyre in place of faulty £80 one. Email responses were rude. All trust lost. I’ve repaired defects through trustworthy garage despite the warranty. Staff were great to point of purchase. Salesman disorganised and manager huffy and rude. Make up your own mind but I’ll never be back!

    Reply from Mcdougal & Breen Ltd on 28/12/18

    Hi Raymond interesting comments and all missing a few important facts but understand you are frustrated about a tyre. There is no issue with your radio and the tyre was replaced all at no cost, not much more we can do than that. Mid range tyres are perfectly acceptable on a 8 year old Golf and in no way effect the driving of a car. In terms of our organisation we found you awfully difficult to work with, as you constantly changed the handover date and expected us to guess when you wanted to collect your car. We then when you gave us 1 hour notice moved our handover diary around to try and appease you and then as thanks we get this review. Sadly we cant choose who buys our cars but on this occasion perhaps we should have. We had other customers interested in the car who would have appreciated its amazing value and its superb condition given its age (8 years old) and its mileage (75000 miles).

  • 5


    By Norman J on 14 October 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Very disappointed with this garage, bought a car recently and traded in a vehicle as part exchange,the part exchange was approx.£2000.00 undervalued.

    Reply from Mcdougal & Breen Ltd on 19/10/18

    Hi Norman. Thanks for taking the time to review our garage, although you have not ever bought a car from us here at McDougal and Breen we are happy to offer you advice on part exchange valuations. When a customer presents a car to us we take in to account many variations. For example if you present a car to us which is unusual or not desirable then price will be adjusted accordingly. Other factors include bodywork issues and mechanical defects picked up at appraisal stage which again can affect price offered. If price cannot be agreed between both parties then usually 'no deal' occurs, which is not a problem to us as a garage nobody is ever pressurised in to buying a car and we wont be pressurised in to over paying for a car we do not want to buy in. Hope this helps and once again thanks for taking the time to choose us for your review and hopefully you try us in the future to see how our process actually works.

  • 5

    BrillIant, friendly and quick service.

    By David C on 02 August 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Brilliant and quick service. Sold my car for a fair price and the matter was all dealt with within a matter of minutes. Would highly recommend!

    Reply from Mcdougal & Breen Ltd on 02/08/18

    Thanks David. Hope you emigration to Canada goes as smoothly !!

  • 5


    By keith P on 31 July 2018 | Purchase not verified

    I won’t mess about with a long review as most people just look at the stars so all I will say is outstanding and personally I think with all the help from the start where they dealt with my partner to the day I drove in as i work away was I say this word again outstanding. I would give 6 stars

  • 5


    By Helen T on 13 July 2018 | Purchase not verified

    I couldn’t have asked for a more relaxed, friendly and professional service. Literally the complete opposite of previous uncomfortable visits to large franchise car dealerships. Even the office feels airy and relaxed with a play area for the little ones. Chris assessed my needs and we had a look at a few cars onsite. I went with the intention of looking at SUVs however a Volvo XC60 immediately caught my eye. Chris did nothing to pressure me toward buying any car whatsoever. He suggested my trying the boots, the seats, test driving etc. And advised if I couldn’t find what I wanted he would make every effort to source the perfect vehicle. As a non mechanical person he took time to explain the features of the car in layman’s terms and made the buying process extremely relaxed. I was not rushed or hurried and my car was ready within a couple of days. I traded a car in which was a simple and no fuss process too. After care excellent too. HIGHLY RECOMMEND. Wouldn’t go anywhere else now!!!

  • 5

    Great Staff

    By Jessica B on 28 May 2018 | Purchase not verified

    Great and helpful staff, offered to drive the car to my house as i haven't passed my test yet! Lovely car and low mileage for a good price!

    Reply from Mcdougal & Breen Ltd on 06/07/18

    Thank you for your review. As a customer we would give you a 5 star also!

  • 5

    Helpful and informative

    By Jim B on 06 November 2017 | Purchase not verified

    Very happy with purchase. Friendly and efficient service and had my car ready within 24 hours.

  • 5

    No hassle dealer

    By Jim B on 03 November 2017 | Purchase not verified

    Friendly and informative dealer.Good salesperson to deal with and had my Focus ready to pickup within 24hrs. Happy and more than likely will return in the future.

Mcdougal & Breen Ltd

0191 2708686

Opening times

Monday 09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday 09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday 09:00 - 18:00
Thursday 09:00 - 18:00
Friday 09:00 - 18:00
Saturday 09:00 - 17:00
Sunday 10:30 - 16:30

Mcdougal & Breen Ltd

NE12 9UP